Infrared Tree Study

I took a photo of this tree that I like and I wanted to show the different ways that it can be edited.  I haven’t cropped the image because I want to highlight just the different ways of editing.

Here’s the image directly out of the camera:

DSC_0004

And the image edited:

This is minimal editing to get to the whites.

DSC_0004 (5)

Then conversion to black and white:

DSC_0004 (5)_3

A slight peach filter was used on this one.  You’ll notice that it is much harsher than the photo of the similar color above, but has more true blacks.  My personal preference is the first photo.  I don’t like the brashness of the blacks in the one below as much:

DSC_0004 (5)_4

This is the typical blue/white infrared version that is seen quite often.  (Blue sky, white foliage and clouds):

DSC_0004 (4)_2

But sometimes it’s fun to play with colors!  Some of these took double and triple editing to get to the final stages, but colors can be fun and so different, I enjoy them.

DSC_0004_3

The two photos below started off the same, but…

DSC_0004_4

I put a filter on this one below and took the blue away, added more yellow…

DSC_0004 (2)

That’s all for now!

