Sunrise – Red Rock Canyon


(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

I went on a great trip to the southwest and took about 1200 photos.  (Don’t worry, you won’t be seeing all of them.) But how could I stop snapping away when I went to such pretty places?  Over a six-day period, I visited

  • Red Rock Canyon – just outside of Las Vegas
  • Valley of Fire State Park – Nevada
  • Death Valley National Park – California
  • Zion National Park – Utah
  • the drive between Zion and Bryce is an experience on it’s own!
  • Bryce Canyon – Utah (barely)
  • Lake Mead National Recreation Area

If you have ever been to any of these places, you  know that I just scratched the surface on what I could explore, but I saw as much as I could in the time that I had.


(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

So while I am weeding away and deleting/editing my photos, I will post what I have gone through and thought were decent so far.  I may end up paring it down a little more, but here’s the first draft.  Let me know what you think as I go – the good, bad and ugly! I have them up on my flickr site as well.

 

These photos are, as the title states, from Red Rock Canyon, the park just outside Las Vegas.  It’s small, but pretty.  Just FYI – check the hours before you go, or you’ll be taking your photos by the side of the road, oops….  BUT, that’s where I took these photos.  Pretty much everything around there is a sight to see.

 

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

I had a ton of fun on my trip, and it allowed me to take some different types of photos that are new to me and I want to invest some more time in: night shots.  For reasons I will explain another time, I had some extra time at Zion in the middle of the night.  I was able to snap some star field photos that came out fairly well – I think.  I have never shot any before so I don’t know if the noise in the photos is allowed or a big no-no.  If there is a photographer out there reading this who knows, let me in on the secret!  I’d love to know.  But, I’ll get back to that later,  …there’s much more to come first.

Stay tuned for more of day 1 …  Red Rock Canyon and Valley of Fire State Park.

Death Valley is Day 2!!


(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

