Red Rock Continued

Continuing with day one of the trip and Red Rock Canyon, here is the start of the day after sunrise.  After the first three photos, I went into the park and started my first big batch of photos of the trip.  I think that it took me a little while to warm up, but here is the first draft of the results.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

The two photos below are infrared photos edited in black and white.  I had a Nikon D200 converted into an infrared camera.  It’s a lot of fun to get some different results.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

The next photo is probably one of my favorite photos from Red Rock.  I was hunting around for a good spot to take a photo (everything there is pretty) so I was just looking for a place to set up my tripod.   I was so happy when I found this little puddle reflecting the mountain above!  It’s a tiny reflection, but hey – beggars can’t be choosers.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

In the photo below I used a macro lens that I borrowed for the trip.  I am still learning the intricacies of it.  I think that I am getting a little too close to my tiny subjects and I’m paying for it, since I am losing my depth of field, but I still liked the colors in photo.  The background is the color of all the rocks around – no saturation or color changes.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

This final photo below is more indicative of how a lot of infrared photos turn out when they aren’t edited in black and white.  It’s nice to shoot with the infrared and the color camera, since the infrared camera does best in bright light, when most color cameras don’t give as exciting photos.  It’s always interesting to see what colors come up in the infrared.  I change them to black and white a lot, but sometimes it’s fun to keep the colors in.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

That’s it for Red Rock.  Next up …  Valley of Fire

 

As usual, click on a photo or HERE or on a photo to see more photos in my FLICKR photostream

 

 

