Valley of Fire – The last of day one…

To say that I am stretching out day one of my trip would not be an exaggeration.  However, I did pack a lot in.  But, you gotta do what you gotta do.  There’s lots to see!

Valley of Fire State Park is a little more than an hour from Las Vegas and definitely worth the drive.  It is larger than Red Rock and has more trails.  I didn’t have time to go on the trails, but if you ever go and are able to devote the day, I would definitely recommend it.  There are some really neat formations there and lots to explore.  Just do a web image search and you will see how much is there.  There are also some petroglyphs that you only have to walk maybe 500 yards from the visitor center to see.

Some of the rock formations at the park are just unreal.  There are times when you feel like you are on a movie set.  It is almost too perfect, how can something look like this and not be created by someone for a specific scene in a movie?  Star Trek anyone?

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

The previous and next few photos are taken in an area close to the beginning of the park if you enter the park close to the visitor center.  (There are two entrances – check out which one you want to go to – if you go to the other one early or late in the day, there is a chance you might see the wild burros close to the road!)

I figured that this picture looked a little extra-terrestrial, and since I took it with the infrared, I would keep it a little different with the colors changed.  Why not.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

There is a little picnic area near here so you can sit and ogle at the rocks for a while.  I took quite a few photos here.  It was a pretty neat place, but no sitting and ogling, no time!

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

A last view of this scene, also in infrared.  I do have to say that I was lucky to have some clouds, which I guess aren’t a very common occurrence.  Yay for clouds making for more interesting photos.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

Moving on…  I found a little orange flower as we were moving to another location and wanted to try the macro lens again.  Again, learning curve, didn’t quite get it right, but I still kind of like these photos.  These guys were tiny, less than 1/2″ each.  If anyone knows what they are – I’d love to know!

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris


(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

OK, on to the landscapes!

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

Infrared….

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

It’s hard to explain the scale here, but the little black strip the runs along the lower right side and up through the center of the photo is a two lane highway.  There’s a blue truck there that is just a tiny speck.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

That’s all for now!!

Next up….  Death Valley!   I was so surprised at the fantastic scenery here.  Another place where I could have spent a few days.

 

 

 

