Salt Flats and Artists Drive

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

As far as the salt flats go… well, it’s flat!  So flat I couldn’t even tell if I had my horizon line straight or not.  It was messing with my head.  Needless to say, some of these photos were straight and some were straightened 🙂

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

It was really interesting to me to see the texture of the salt up close.   I guess I don’t know what I expected, more a texture like sand, I guess, but when I looked closer, this is what it was like:  pretty cool, I think.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

It stuck to my shoes like sand, but it was kind of wet.  On the trail where a lot of people had walked it was really packed down, but in the other areas, I sunk down a little bit from the sogginess.

Here is a closer example.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

After I spent a wonderfully warm hour and a half on the flats, I drove the nine mile Artists Scenic Drive.  Named for the colorful palette of colors….  It was an uphill climb and looking back I could see where I had just been.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

The drive offered spectacular views of course and is definitely worth the half hour or so it takes to drive it (if you decide not to stop.)  I am sure it took me longer.  (Below is an infrared shot of the salt flats from artists drive)

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

Signs of spring in the desert!!

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

It was a beautiful day as I mentioned and the moon was hanging over the rocks in a dark blue sky.  I am not going to be overly wordy on this post since there are a lot of photos and I need to get to the next batch.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

Stay tuned very soon for an update on Mesquite Sand Dunes and Zabriskie Point to round out Death Valley.

I need to hurry and get to my Zion photos, I just can’t wait!

