Death Valley – Sand Dunes and Sunset

In the last installment of Death Valley are the photos of Mesquite Sand Dunes and sunset at Zabriskie Point.   And as an FYI, I didn’t add all the photos to this page since there were a bunch, so check out the rest on my flickr page.  There’s more of both the Dunes and Zabriskie Point in color and infrared.  Click on a photo or HERE or the link on the side of the page and it will take you there.

There are different locations you can go to for sand dunes, but unfortunately I didn’t have time to hike out to the one that I really wanted to go to.  Luckily, there were some that were just a stones throw away from a tourist stop/parking lot area, so those are the dunes I chose – Mesquite Sand Dunes.  While not the ideal time of day, mid-afternoon and windy, it was still fun.  And nice and warm for this cold-body.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

It was, like I mentioned, a pretty windy day but the footprints from previous hikers hadn’t been blown off this side of the dune.  Below, you can see the other side of the dunes in the distance.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

This is a black and white conversion of an infrared photo.  The view is what I was seeing as I was standing on top of one of the taller dunes.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

A view from the road a bit later in the evening.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

Time’s running out, on my way to Zabriskie Point so I can catch the last rays of sunshine and sunset.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

Zabriskie Point – A very dumbed down explanation: These mountains are part of the Amaragosa range.  Formerly part of an active volcano system and then thermal lake bed, it’s mineral deposits contribute to the colors differing colors.  Don’t quote me, I might be wrong.

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

Sunset

(c) 2011 Nicole Norris

 

Next up: Zion

