Zion – Day 2

Day 4:  My last photos of Zion.  These were taken after I downloaded my star photos, had a little coffee and started my day — again.  I made my way back into the park and saw that there were some excellent shadows happening on the mountains.  To explain Zion in a nutshell, when you go in, the road you drive down is essentially the lunchmeat in a mountain sandwich.  To the right and left of teh road are the pull-off points for your trailheads.  It curves around a bit, but I don’t want to make my explanation too detailed for this post, plus it’s easier to just look a at a map.  The nps website has the best one.  Just think mountain, road, mountain.

© Nicole Norris

SOO – back to the shadows.  The morning light was working and the light was shining from one mountain to the other, giving me the shadow of one mountain onto the other.  Even the trees were reflecting in a very crisp shadow.  I climbed up onto one of the trails that got me up a a little higher and started snapping away.

© Nicole Norris

After the sun rose a bit more and the shadows were gone, I headed over to the Temple of Sinawava with the intention of taking a longer hike.  I took photos at the river for about an hour and at the end of that hour, the weather had changed drastically.

© Nicole Norris

So instead of the hike, which wouldn’t have been a good idea had the weather changed for the worse, I took some more river photos and then decided what the heck, I think that I am going to go to Bryce Canyon!

© Nicole Norris

I didn’t think that I was going to be able to make it there for this trip, but I had a quasi odd half-day that I wanted to be able to fill.  If I had a great time at Bryce, I was going to stay there for the night, take some more photos early morning and leave toward noon.  But, the whole point of that boring story was to tell you about the OTHER part of Zion.  The Mount Carmel Highway Scenic Drive.

© Nicole Norris

It’s amazing the difference between the two parts of Zion.  As soon as you get on the drive the scenery is totally different than what you see in the other part of the park.  The rock is so much redder.  It’s just as pretty, just different.

© Nicole Norris

The park raves about the big tunnel that you go through – wow!  Great.  Uh, no.  I didn’t like it.  You have to go super slow and it just gives you more and more time to think about how much mountain is on top of you.  No thanks.

© Nicole Norris

As you get closer to Bryce, you run into even more crazy scenery… – Next up – Dixie National Forest and Bryce!

