Day Five – My last day – Lake Mead

After recovering from my long day in Utah, I stayed close to “home” for the last day of my trip.  I decided to head out towards Lake Mead Recreation Area (which is huge).  I kept driving and driving and then decided that it would be a good idea to turn around, since I get lost when there is only one road and it is a straight line with no turns.

© Nicole Norris

Lake Mead was on the list of places to go that day, and this was near one of the boat launches.  The sun was soo bright overhead and the clouds were starting to come in creating such a bright sky, it was hard to get a good photo.  I don’t have any ND Grad filters, so I had to just wing it and see what I could do with what I had.

© Nicole Norris

Needless to say, before my next trip, there will be a proper filter kit in my bag.  Hopefully 🙂

© Nicole Norris

If you go to my flickr site and look for a photo similar to the one above and look carefully, you will see a very small person fishing towards the end of the second rock “island” on the left in the water.  I think that will help give you a better idea of the scale.  The mountains look a lot closer when you take a photo, but the clouds were still pretty high in the sky at this time, so the haze is a result of distance as well.

© Nicole Norris

More Lake Mead.  I think that the Black and White helped give me a bit more contrast, especially in the sky.

After Lake Mead, I met up with my friend, we went to dinner and then up to the top of a big hill to take photos of the sunset over the Las Vegas strip.  It wasn’t the most awe-inspiring sunset in the world, but it was a different view, and a fun time.

© Nicole Norris

This is the end of my Southwest Trip!  It was a blast and I am already planning a new trip for the fall.  In the meantime, the weather is finally turning warm here, so I will hopefully be getting out more and finding stuff to snap here.  I think that there is a carnival next weekend that I want to go to.
