Thumb – Sanilac

I recently made a visit to the thumb.  For the non-Michiganders (or Michiganians – it depends on what you believe is right, but only Michiganian came up as incorrect in spell check – ahem), the thumb is of course, the thumb part of the mitten of Michigan.  Port Austin was the final destination, with a detour to the Sanilac Petroglyphs Historic State Park for a peek at the rocks.

© Nicole Norris

The first stop was the Petroglyphs State Park.  While the petroglyphs were intriguing, there was a trail around the park which was quite enjoyable and where I got some of my favorite photos of the day.

© Nicole Norris

I brought along both my infrared and my color camera, since I want to take advantage of my infrared while all of the leaves are still green on the trees.  Now, I love taking photos with the infrared in the winter – don’t get me wrong, I think the photos look really neat – but I love how the infrared lightens up the trees in what was otherwise quite a shady forest area.

© Nicole Norris

This family was walking the trail at the same pace and we kept passing each other back and forth.  On one pass I quickly snapped this photo.  It works better with a bit of a larger view (which you can see on my flickr page.  I needed to desaturate the photo because with the light coming through the trees the greens were so intense the took over as the subject of the photo.

© Nicole Norris

Check back for part two of my post – Port Austin – the beach and sunset! 🙂

There are more photos on my flickr site or please visit my website to check out some of my galleries!  www.nicolenorris.com

